Exposing the LASIK Scam

One Surgeon at a Time
It is currently Fri May 25, 2018 9:32 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: Had Wavefront Guided Treatment of High Order Aberrations.
PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 9:34 am 

Hello Everybody

I am new to this forum and would like to share my own story with you. Hopefully, it may provide hope and encouragement to those who have the same problems as I had, since many of your stories were similar to mine. I am a qualified doctor myself in Hong Kong and had lasik originally in 2002.

My readings at that time were -9.00 for both eyes. The original procedure was carried out by B&L technolas and used wavefront data. Following the procedure, I made a rocky recovery with a lot of problems with dry eyes. I was left with over 1.00 of induced astigmatism in each eye for which enhancement procedures were carried out in 2003. The procedure for my right eye went successfully but the left eye did not. I started seeing ghosting and double images right after the operation. The main problem was with traffic lights and the brake lights of cars. I could see a thick trail of light shooting towards the one O' clock position. There was also substantial glare and starbursts.

As was probably routine at that time, my surgeon told me that it should improve with time and did not think further surgery was advisable. When the ghosting did not disappear after several months, I decided to seek a second opinion. Measurements by a Ladarvision abberometer revealed extensive high order aberrations in my left eye. However, at that time surgery could not be carried out as the manufacturer would not allow it. In the meantime, the visual symptoms seems to have improved somewhat and I decided that I could live with it. Luckily, the left eye was not my dominant eye. Then last year, it seems that the symptoms started getting worse again.